Porting SPI flash from SPI to QSPI

Go To Last Post
19 posts / 0 new
Author
Total votes: 1

I am trying to move my Spansion S25FL127 SPI Flash Memory device on M7/E70 from Standard SPI interface to QSPI and observed several Problems I'd like to introduce and discuss in this thread. I'm not an SPI expert but I as far as I remember it wasn't a big problem running this Flash device on SPI0 using Interrupts, XDMA and other stuff. Sadly using QSPI this is not so easy as expected.

I thought it is best to start with the QSPI ASF demo for S25xxx devices which came with ASF 3.34.0 for V71 XULT board. I adapted it to my custom E70 board and tried both modes: Standard SPI and Serial Memory with Little success.

I seems to me that there are several restrictions and bugs in the QSPI stuff.

1. QSPI hangs with long DLYCS 

There is a bug in the M7 core you should know about when porting from SPI to QSPI, see chapter 61.10 in the E70 Manual.

2. DLYBCT must be set to 0 in Serial mode

See chapter 41.6.4 in the E70 Manual.

3. ASF QSPI bug

Sending multiple Bytes to SPI slave Fails on my side. Only the first Byte is sent. In the ASF source file qspi.c the following code might introduce a bug. If the empty bit is not set writing the Byte to send Register is skipped but the data is lost because the Counter is incremented by mistake.

for(; num_of_bytes_write < num_of_bytes; num_of_bytes_write++) {
   if (qspi->QSPI_SR & QSPI_SR_TXEMPTY) {
    qspi_write_spi(qspi, (uint16_t)(*pw_data));
    pw_data += Addr_Inc;
    num_of_attempt = 0;
    status = STATUS_OK;
   } else {
    status = STATUS_ERR_BUSY;
    num_of_attempt++;
    if(num_of_attempt > 0xFFFF) {
     status = ERR_TIMEOUT;
     break;
    }
   }
  }

4. ASF demo not using DMA

In the source demo pack for V71 which can be downloaded from Atmel site there is a demo for QSPI using XDMA. But this code seems to be discontinued and the current ASF Version 3.34.0 does not provide DMA.